News Flash

NRH Reads

Posted on: April 3, 2020

Feel Good Reads

Woman smiling while reading an ebook

Hello everyone, today I’ll be suggesting some lighthearted, heartwarming fiction. During hard times, immersing yourself in a good story can often help. These stories, in particular, have a reputation for being funny, engaging, and touching. Every title listed is available on Overdrive, so you can enjoy them even if you can’t come into the library!


The Library of the Lost and Found by Phaedra Patrick

The Rules of Magic Book CoverThe Library of the Lost and Found tells the story of a kind-hearted librarian who receives a book of fairy tales from her grandmother (who she believed was dead). This leads her on a path of family secrets. Who doesn’t love a book about a librarian receiving a mysterious book? With a small-town setting and lovable characters, this book is heartwarming and engaging. 





The Rules of Magic by Alice Hoffman

The Library Lost and FoundThis is the prequel to Hoffman’s Practical Magic but you can read this book as a standalone. If you have read Practical Magic you’ll love a further exploration of those characters. 

The Rules of Magic focuses on Susannah Owens and her three children: Franny, Jet, and Vincent. Susannah sets rules to limit their use of magical gifts that her children have. She also forbids falling in love because of a  generations-long family curse. When the children go to visit their aunt, they discover their family history and decide to try and end the curse. Those of you who are familiar with Practical Magic will recognize some of the characters in this funny, magical read.



The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer

Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society CoverSet in 1946, this book is about a writer, Juliet, who is inspired to write a book based on the letters she has exchanged with a resident of Guernsey. In them, she has learned about the titular Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, which was created to help protect members during the German occupation. 

With the audiobook, the strong female lead and unique cast of characters, are brought to life. It was also adapted last year into a movie on Netflix. 




Emma by Jane Austen

Emma by Jane AustenA classic by Jane Austen, Emma is about Emma Woodhouse, a young, rich woman who would rather play matchmaker to her friends and acquaintances than get married herself. Emma is intelligent, headstrong, and although she has the best intentions she sometimes does not see where she is going wrong. Not surprisingly, her matchmaking does not always go as planned and leads to some interesting complications. In Emma, Austen has given us a classic, witty comedy of errors featuring a good dose of romantic understandings. 





That’s what I have for you this time, but I hope these recommendations provide you with some very happy reading!

Yaika

Yaika S.
Circulation Supervisor

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in NRH Reads

stephen king books

Readalikes: Stephen King

Posted on: September 29, 2020
whats hot: august

What's Hot! Popular Titles of August

Posted on: August 21, 2020
CJ Box Read-Alikes

Read-A-Likes: C.J. Box

Posted on: July 28, 2020
news flash (2)

What's Hot! Top Titles of July

Posted on: July 17, 2020
summer reads book list

Easy-Breezy Summer Reads

Posted on: June 30, 2020
Books about dads

Stories to Celebrate Father's Day

Posted on: June 15, 2020
IMG_3108

Harry Potter Read-Alikes

Posted on: June 11, 2020
dragon books

All About Dragons

Posted on: June 9, 2020
mysterious woods

Top 10 Mystery Books

Posted on: April 29, 2020
book with roses

10 Romance Novels to Fall For

Posted on: April 21, 2020
Browsing Comic Books

Bam! Pow!: Great Graphic Novels

Posted on: April 10, 2020