News Flash

NRH Reads

Posted on: June 11, 2020

Harry Potter Read-Alikes

IMG_3108

Now that our reading of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has ended, George and Hedwig are left searching for similar books that they could read on their own! Together with the help of Ms. Monica, they’ve come up with a list of books they’re eager to try, and wanted to share with you!

Juvenile Fiction

Magyk (Septimus Heap Series #1) by Angie Sage

magykSeptimus Heap, the seventh son of the seventh son, disappears the night he is born, pronounced dead by the midwife. That same night, the baby’s father, Silas Heap, comes across an abandoned child in the snow—a newborn girl with violet eyes. The Heaps take her into their home, name her Jenna, and raise her as their own. But who is this mysterious baby girl, and what really happened to their beloved son Septimus?






The Crooked Sixpence (The Uncommoners series #1) by Jennifer Bell

crooked sixpenceAnyone with a Hogwarts-shaped hole in their lives can’t miss this fantasy series opener. Dive into a secret underground city below London where ordinary objects are capable of extraordinary magic!







Pennyroyal Academy (Pennyroyal Academy series #1) by M.A. Larson

pennyroyal academyA girl from the forest arrives in a bustling kingdom with no name and no idea why she is there, only to find herself at the center of a world at war.  She enlists at Pennyroyal Academy, where princesses and knights are trained to battle the two great menaces of the day: witches and dragons. There, given the name “Evie,” she must endure a harsh training regimen under the steel glare of her Fairy drill sergeant, while also navigating an entirely new world of friends and enemies.







The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson & the Olympians #1) by Rick Riordan

The Lightning ThiefTwelve-year-old Percy Jackson is on the most dangerous quest of his life. With the help of a satyr and a daughter of Athena, Percy must journey across the United States to catch a thief who has stolen the original weapon of mass destruction — Zeus’ master bolt. Along the way, he must face a host of mythological enemies determined to stop him. Most of all, he must come to terms with a father he has never known, and an Oracle that has warned him of betrayal by a friend.







Young Adult Fiction

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (Fairyland Series #1) by Catherynne M. Valente

the girl who circumnavigated fairylandTwelve-year-old September lives in Omaha and used to have an ordinary life until her father went to war and her mother went to work. One day, September is met at her kitchen window by a Green Wind (taking the form of a gentleman in a green jacket), who invites her on an adventure, implying that her help is needed in Fairyland.







The Alchemyst (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel #1) by Michael Scott

Alchemyst_Nicholas_FlamelNicholas Flamel appeared in J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series—but did you know he really lived? And he might still be alive today! Discover the truth in Michael Scott’s New York Times bestselling series the Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel with The Alchemyst, book one.







Akata Witch (Akata Witch duology #1) by Nnedi Okorafor

akata witch Sunny Nwazue lives in Nigeria, but she was born in New York City. Her features are West African, but she’s albino. She’s a terrific athlete but can’t go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits in. And then she discovers something amazing—she is a “free agent” with latent magical power. And she has a lot of catching up to do. Soon she’s part of a quartet of magic students, studying the visible and invisible, learning to change reality. But as she’s finding her footing, Sunny and her friends are asked by the magical authorities to help track down a career criminal who knows magic, too. Will their training be enough to help them combat a threat whose powers greatly outnumber theirs? 




 


We hope you find something new and magical in one of these books. Please be sure to let us know what you think!

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in NRH Reads

stephen king books

Readalikes: Stephen King

Posted on: September 29, 2020
whats hot: august

What's Hot! Popular Titles of August

Posted on: August 21, 2020
CJ Box Read-Alikes

Read-A-Likes: C.J. Box

Posted on: July 28, 2020
news flash (2)

What's Hot! Top Titles of July

Posted on: July 17, 2020
summer reads book list

Easy-Breezy Summer Reads

Posted on: June 30, 2020
Books about dads

Stories to Celebrate Father's Day

Posted on: June 15, 2020
dragon books

All About Dragons

Posted on: June 9, 2020
mysterious woods

Top 10 Mystery Books

Posted on: April 29, 2020
book with roses

10 Romance Novels to Fall For

Posted on: April 21, 2020
Browsing Comic Books

Bam! Pow!: Great Graphic Novels

Posted on: April 10, 2020
Woman smiling while reading an ebook

Feel Good Reads

Posted on: April 3, 2020