News Flash

NRH Reads

Posted on: October 9, 2020

9 Chilling Books to Scare You This October

scary books

Craving a good scare? From creepy paranormal stories to the deeply disturbing -- there's something for all horror fans on this chilling list of tales. Warning: some of these books are not for the faint of heart.


The Deep by Alma Katsu

The DeepThe Deep is an eerie, psychological twist on the Titanic sinking and the ill-fated sail of its sister ship, the Britannic. The story follows the passengers who survived the Titanic sinkingand some who would later sail on her sister ship, The Britannic, and are convinced something sinister and ghostly is at work. Katsu does a wonderful job of weaving historical fiction, paranormal, and horror elements together to form a story that will leave you turning pages late into the night. 

          Genre: Historical Fiction, Paranormal












Bitter Orange by Claire Fuller

bitter orangeAfter accepting a job from a mysterious benefactor, Frances Jellico finds herself in the English countryside researching a dilapidated mansion's architecture on a sprawling plot of land in the summer of 1969. In the rooms below her attic space are Cara and Peter, who are supposedly cataloging the vast amount of valuables left in the mansion. Not all is as it seems, and Frances finds herself increasingly entangled in Peter and Cara's lives. Fuller uses an anachronistic lifestyle for the characters and flashbacks to add a great level of disorientation to this twisting and eerie story. 

          Genre: Psychological 











After the People Lights Have Gone Off by Stephen Graham Jones (available through cloudLibrary audio only)

after the lights go offThe fifteen stories in After the People Lights Have Gone Off by Stephen Graham Jones include two original stories, several rarities and out of print narratives, as well as a few "best of the year" inclusions. This anthology covers all the horror bases, ranging from the supernatural horrors to everyday fears. One takeaway from this book, don't tattoo the dead.

          Genre: Short Stories, Paranormal, Occult










The Ritual by Adam Neville

the ritualThis book is filled with atmosphere, chilling darkness, and loaded heavy metal references. Four old college friends try to reconnect on a camping trip in the Scandinavian wilderness. As the journey starts to wear them down, what seems like a shortcut to ease their hike turns into a nightmare in a dark untouched nature, where ancient gods and pagan rituals still rule.

          Genre: Paranormal, Survival












Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

mexican gothicAfter receiving a frantic letter from her newly-wed cousin begging for someone to save her from a mysterious doom, Noemí Taboada heads to High Place, a distant house in the Mexican countryside. She's not sure what she will find—her cousin's husband, a handsome Englishman, is a stranger, and Noemí knows little about the region.  Noemí is a glamorous debutante, but she's also tough and smart, with an indomitable will, and she is not afraid: not of her cousin's new husband, who is both menacing and alluring; not of his father, the ancient patriarch who seems to be fascinated by Noemí; and not even of the house itself, which begins to invade Noemi's dreams with visions of blood and doom.

          Genre: Historical Fiction, Gothic Thriller











Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice (available through cloudLibrary)

interview with the vampireThis classic gothic horror tells the story of Louis de Pointe du Lac, a 200-year-old vampire who has agreed to be interviewed by a reporter. Louis shares his tale of transformation and torturous immortality by talking about his life with Lestat, the vampire who turns him, and Claudia, a child who Louis himself turns. While this tragic story of immortality and loyalty is a bit of a break from the scarier books on this list, Interview with the Vampire is a terrific classic to revisit or sink your teeth into for the first time this Halloween.

          Genre:  Gothic 













Devil All the Time by Donald Pollock

devil all the timeThere are no ghosts or monsters in this book, just sinister people committing violent and grotesque deeds. Devil All the Time is an unsettling novel that follows different characters as their paths slowly converge. The main character, Arvin, tries his best to protect the ones he loves, in a town full of disturbed characters as they justify the horrible things they've done and plan to do.

          Genre: Murder Thrillers, Southern Gothic












The Witch's Kind by Louisa Morgan

The witch's kindWith her aunt Charlotte's help, Barrie Anne Blythe must care for a strange and mysterious baby that she finds on her daily trip to the shore. While caring for the child, Barrie Anne discovers her family's secrets that her mother worked desperately to cover. Set in the Pacific Northwest, The Witch's Kind is an ethereal story about love, family, and magic that pulls the reader in like a siren calls a sailor to the water. While not quite a historical fiction piece, The Witch's Kind gives an enthralling glimpse into the lives of those who stayed at home during the Second World War. When Barrie Anne's long-lost husband reappears at the worst time possible, it is up to Barrie Anne and Charlotte to protect their family home, their secrets, and the baby.

          Genre: Historical Fiction, Occult, Magical Realism










 

Seed by Ania Ahlborn

SeedThis creepy southern gothic tells the tale of Jack, a young man who has done his best to flee his traumatic childhood only to find that the horrible evil he was running from now has its sights on his daughter. This novel is full of classic horror goodness, creepy demons, a doomed fate, and gore galore!


          Genre: Paranormal, Occult

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in NRH Reads

stephen king books

Readalikes: Stephen King

Posted on: September 29, 2020
whats hot: august

What's Hot! Popular Titles of August

Posted on: August 21, 2020
CJ Box Read-Alikes

Read-A-Likes: C.J. Box

Posted on: July 28, 2020
news flash (2)

What's Hot! Top Titles of July

Posted on: July 17, 2020
summer reads book list

Easy-Breezy Summer Reads

Posted on: June 30, 2020
Books about dads

Stories to Celebrate Father's Day

Posted on: June 15, 2020
IMG_3108

Harry Potter Read-Alikes

Posted on: June 11, 2020
dragon books

All About Dragons

Posted on: June 9, 2020
mysterious woods

Top 10 Mystery Books

Posted on: April 29, 2020
book with roses

10 Romance Novels to Fall For

Posted on: April 21, 2020
Browsing Comic Books

Bam! Pow!: Great Graphic Novels

Posted on: April 10, 2020
Woman smiling while reading an ebook

Feel Good Reads

Posted on: April 3, 2020