News Flash

NRH Reads

Posted on: November 13, 2020

Far Away Adventures for Young Adults

news flash (9)

So far away, yet so close, these Young Adult books will take you on adventures near and far with their vivid descriptions and engaging stories. With all of the travel restrictions, I hope one of these books will help satisfy your wanderlust.  


Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

love and gelatoItaly and gelato – a match too good to put down. After discovering her mother's journal, Lina embarks on a journey to Italy to find her biological father. Lina soon discovers Florence and Rome's beauty, and along the way, finds plenty of friendship, love, and of course, gelato in this lighthearted, laugh-out-loud book.


Available in: Print  |  eBook  |  eAudiobook










Mars One by Jonathan Maberry

Mars OneI'm a NASA nerd, and I love books about space travel. In this fast-paced journey to outer space, Tristan and his family are one of 40 people on a one-way mission to Mars. The race is on to beat another ship, find the person sabotaging the mission, and make it to Mars alive.


Available in: Print  |  eAudiobook











Love À la Mode by Stephanie Kate Strohm

love a la modeParis and croissants; apparently, travel and food are all I need to pick up a book! In this fun and energetic book, Teen chefs from all over the world travel to Paris to study at Chef Laurent's famous cooking school. They find love, triumphs, disappointments, and of course, great food. Spoiler alert: you will definitely crave a good croissant after reading this.


Available in: Print











 

Peak by Roland Smith

PeakClimb Mount Everest with 14-year-old Peak Marcello, who is sent by a judge to live with his father after being arrested for scaling skyscrapers.  Filled with details about the base camp, climbing, and the roles of Tibetan Sherpas, this book shares the international culture of major mountain climbing.


Available in: Print  |  eBook  |  eAudiobook

 











Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly 

RevolutionAndi Alper's family is torn apart by the death of her younger brother. When Andi and her father impulsively move to Paris, Andi discovers the lost diary of Alexandrine. Andi is immediately whisked into the dead girl's life during the French Revolution. The fast-paced story, great characters, and intriguing history lessons keep you thinking about this book long after its end.  

 

Available in: Print  |  eBook  |  eAudiobook











Marcus Vega Doesn't Speak Spanish by Pablo Cartaya

Marcus Vega Doesn't Speak SpanishMarcus Vega is already 6 feet tall and 180 pounds -- and he's only in eighth grade. He's not a bully but a protector of the bullied. When he is expelled for standing up for Charlie, his younger brother with Down Syndrome, Marcus' mother takes the family to Puerto Rico to reconnect with her family. Marcus wants to find his real dad, who is somewhere nearby. Along the way, he learns that truth lies within, that family stands together, and even a little bit of Spanish. Cartaya's own authentic voice and detailed descriptions of the food, music, and Puerto Rican culture make the book come alive. As a bonus for any audiobook listeners, Cartaya narrates the book himself.

 

Available in: Print  |  eBook  |  eAudiobook










Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

Salt to the SeaI'm always drawn to WWII historical fiction, and Salt to the Sea doesn't disappoint. Four teens each have their own dark secrets and reasons for escaping war-torn eastern Prussia at the end of WWII. Based on actual events and told in alternating voices, Sepetys aptly describes the harrowing and heartbreaking journey as the teens seek refuge on the Wilhelm Gustloff in this captivating story of survival. 

 

Available in: Print  |  eBook  |  eAudiobook











Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed

Written in the StarsNaila, a Pakistani American high-school senior, goes against her parents' wishes to attend prom with her sweetheart, Saif. Her family immediately takes her to Pakistan to arrange a suitable marriage. Together Naila and the reader are thrust into the culture, language, and rituals of Pakistan. I chose this book to learn more about Pakistani culture from a teen's perspective, which is confidently depicted in Saeed's writing.

 

Available in: Print  












Monica

Monica P.
Young Adult Librarian

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in NRH Reads

cozy mysteries

Cozy Mysteries to Curl Up With

Posted on: October 28, 2020
stephen king books

Readalikes: Stephen King

Posted on: September 29, 2020
whats hot: august

What's Hot! Popular Titles of August

Posted on: August 21, 2020
CJ Box Read-Alikes

Read-A-Likes: C.J. Box

Posted on: July 28, 2020
news flash (2)

What's Hot! Top Titles of July

Posted on: July 17, 2020
summer reads book list

Easy-Breezy Summer Reads

Posted on: June 30, 2020
Books about dads

Stories to Celebrate Father's Day

Posted on: June 15, 2020
IMG_3108

Harry Potter Read-Alikes

Posted on: June 11, 2020
dragon books

All About Dragons

Posted on: June 9, 2020
mysterious woods

Top 10 Mystery Books

Posted on: April 29, 2020
book with roses

10 Romance Novels to Fall For

Posted on: April 21, 2020
Browsing Comic Books

Bam! Pow!: Great Graphic Novels

Posted on: April 10, 2020
Woman smiling while reading an ebook

Feel Good Reads

Posted on: April 3, 2020