News Flash

NRH Reads

Posted on: December 31, 2020

Top Books of 2020

Book covers of most popular books of 2020

Curious about what your community read this year? These were the ten most checked-out books of 2020 at the NRH Library.

Sisters10.    Sisters

by Raina Telgemeier

An autobiographical juvenile graphic novel and follow up to Smile written by Raina Telgemeier.

Borrow the book in:

Print
eBook




Little Fires Everywhere9.    Little Fires Everywhere

by Celeste Ng

Two families living in 1990s Shaker Heights are brought together through their children.

Borrow the book in:

Print
Audiobook
eBook
eAudiobook




The Guardians by John Grisham8.    The Guardians

by John Grisham

 A classic legal thriller—with a twist.

Borrow the book in:

Print
Audiobook
eBook
eAudiobook




dog-man7.    Dog Man 

by Dav Pilkey

From the creators of Captain Underpants comes a new crimefighter who has the head of a police dog and a policeman's body.

Borrow the book in:

Print
eBook





educated6.    Educated

by Tara Westover

Tara Westover's memoir recounting her life in a survivalist Mormon family and emphasizing the importance of education in enlarging her world.

Borrow the book in:

Print
Audiobook
eBook
eAudiobook




The Giver of Stars5.    The Giver of Stars 

by Jojo Moyes

A breathtaking story of five extraordinary women and their remarkable journey through the mountains of Kentucky in Depression-era America. We were fortunate enough to have Ms. Moyes visit us from England in 2019 for Behind the Book!

Borrow the book in:

Print
Audiobook
eBook
eAudiobook




Walk the Wire by David Baldacci4.    Walk the Wire (Amos Decker #6)

by David Baldacci

Amos Decker, an FBI consultant with a perfect memory, returns to solve a gruesome murder in a booming North Dakota oil town.

Borrow the book in:

Print
eBook
eAudiobook




where the crawdads sing3.    Where the Crawdads Sing

by Delia Owens

A heartbreaking coming-of-age story, an exquisite ode to the natural world, and a surprising tale of possible murder.

Borrow the book in:

Print
Audiobook
eBook
eAudiobook




Camino Winds by John Grisham2.    Camino Winds

by John Grisham

A legal thriller that sweeps you away to paradise for a little sun, sand, mystery, and mayhem.

Borrow the book in:

Print
eBook
eAudiobook




American Dirt by Jeanine Cummins1.    American Dirt 

by Jeanine Cummins

Follows a Mexican bookseller who has to escape cartel-related violence with her son, fleeing to the US.

Borrow the book in:

Print
Audiobook
eBook
eAudiobook



Honorable Mentions

If you’re wondering what genre fans are reading, here is a quick peek at some of our most popular titles by genre:

Did your favorite book of the year make the list? Be sure to place a hold on any items that you may have missed!

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in NRH Reads

Martin_Luther_King_Jr_St_Paul_Campus_U_MN

Books Honoring Martin Luther King, Jr.

Posted on: January 15, 2021
Happy Golden Retriever - Photo by Helena Lopes from Pexels

Books for Dog Lovers

Posted on: December 3, 2020
news flash (9)

Far Away Adventures for Young Adults

Posted on: November 13, 2020
cozy mysteries

Cozy Mysteries to Curl Up With

Posted on: October 28, 2020
stephen king books

Readalikes: Stephen King

Posted on: September 29, 2020
whats hot: august

What's Hot! Popular Titles of August

Posted on: August 21, 2020
CJ Box Read-Alikes

Read-A-Likes: C.J. Box

Posted on: July 28, 2020
news flash (2)

What's Hot! Top Titles of July

Posted on: July 17, 2020
summer reads book list

Easy-Breezy Summer Reads

Posted on: June 30, 2020
Books about dads

Stories to Celebrate Father's Day

Posted on: June 15, 2020
IMG_3108

Harry Potter Read-Alikes

Posted on: June 11, 2020
dragon books

All About Dragons

Posted on: June 9, 2020
mysterious woods

Top 10 Mystery Books

Posted on: April 29, 2020
book with roses

10 Romance Novels to Fall For

Posted on: April 21, 2020
Browsing Comic Books

Bam! Pow!: Great Graphic Novels

Posted on: April 10, 2020
Woman smiling while reading an ebook

Feel Good Reads

Posted on: April 3, 2020