News Flash

NRH Reads

15 Stories
Posted on: October 9, 2020

9 Chilling Books to Scare You This October

scary books

Craving a good scare? From creepy paranormal stories to the deeply disturbing -- there's something for all horror fans on this chilling list of tales. Warning: some of these books are not for the faint of heart.

The Deep by Alma Katsu

The Deep is a...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: September 29, 2020

Readalikes: Stephen King

stephen king books

Stephen King is often considered a modern king (ha!) of horror. He excels at stories about good vs. evil, supernatural terrors, and even the darkness based in reality. He’s also known for creating very memorable characters. If you’re a fan of his creepy, ...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: August 27, 2020

13 Biographies to Satisfy Your Curiosity

Photo of a girl looking up over her book

Hello! I’m Kandra, the Adult Services Supervisor. I am sometimes curious about other people’s lives especially historical figures and celebrities. I love to read biographies because you can be nosey without anyone knowing you are being...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: August 21, 2020

What's Hot! Popular Titles of August

whats hot: august

Curious to see what your community is reading and watching? Well, you’re in luck! We’ve compiled a list of some of the most popular fiction books, non-fiction books, and DVDs in our Library’s collection from the past month. B...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: July 28, 2020

Read-A-Likes: C.J. Box

CJ Box Read-Alikes

Author C.J. Box is most known for his modern westerns following Joe Pickett, a Game Warden in Wyoming. If you enjoy stories with unlikely heroes, sweeping landscapes, and gripping mysteries waiting to be solved, you may enjoy one of these thrilling storie...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: July 17, 2020

What's Hot! Top Titles of July

news flash (2)

Curious to see what your community is reading and watching? Well, you’re in luck! We’ve compiled a list of the most popular fiction books, non-fiction books, and DVDs in our Library’s collection from the past month. Below are...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: June 30, 2020

Easy-Breezy Summer Reads

summer reads book list

If you’re looking for fun, easy, reads for your summer staycation look no further! Some feature stories as fluffy clouds to float along with while others are juicy stories that will sweep you away. Each of these books offers a great escape for k...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: June 15, 2020

Stories to Celebrate Father's Day

Books about dads

This week’s storytime theme is all about dads in celebration of Father’s Day. We’ve got books by famous dads, books about dads, and even books about grandfathers. 

Featured in Storytime

Everything is Mama by Jimmy Fallo...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: June 11, 2020

Harry Potter Read-Alikes

IMG_3108

Now that our reading of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has ended, George and Hedwig are left searching for similar books that they could read on their own! Together with the help of Ms. Monica, they’ve come up with a list of boo...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: June 9, 2020

All About Dragons

dragon books

The storytime theme of the week is...Dragons! These picture books feature fun stories and adventures with mythical creatures from folklore of many cultures around the world.

Read It Again

These books were read aloud by Ms. Monica during this week’...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: May 28, 2020

Hidden Gems: Reads You May Have Missed

book pages in a heart

Greetings! I’m Courtney, the Assistant Library Director. So many times we hear or read about popular books that are always on the New York Times bestsellers list, and many great reads get lost in the mix. So here are some suggested titles in fic...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: April 29, 2020

Top 10 Mystery Books

mysterious woods

Spend the weekend curling up with a cozy mystery or on the edge of your seat with a suspenseful thriller. Kandra has compiled a list of some of the most popular mystery & thriller titles available at your Library. Take a look and let us know what you ...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: April 21, 2020

10 Romance Novels to Fall For

book with roses

If you are in the mood for love, let us help you count the ways! Here are some of our top romance titles in our OverDrive digital collection. 

1.       The Kiss Quotient (The Kiss Quotient Series, #1) by Helen Hoang

This i...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: April 20, 2020

Zap! Wham! Graphic Novels for Kids and Teens

zap!

I’m back with another round of graphic novels, this time for kids and teens. Graphic novels are engaging for all readers, and are especially great for reluctant readers! Here are a few of my favorite on RBDigital Comics for kids and teens that c...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: April 10, 2020

Bam! Pow!: Great Graphic Novels

Browsing Comic Books

I am a total comic book and graphic novel nerd. I’ve read them for as long as I’ve been able to read. If you’re a long time fan or new to comics we have digital comics that you can access from anywhere through RBDigital Comic...

Read on...

NRH Reads