News Flash

NRH Reads

Posted on: July 4, 2023

Dive Into a Beach Read

Sunglasses laying on top of a book on a sandy beach

Whether you are spending a day soaking up the sun or just needing a quick break from your busy week, these captivating beach reads are the perfect summertime escape. From romances to gripping murder mysteries or family dramas, this carefully curated compilation should provide something for every reader; stop by and select your literary getaway! 


book cover of Stranger on the Beach by Michele CampbellA Stranger on the Beach

by Michele Campbell

A Stranger on the Beach is a thrilling psychological ride that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Full of seduction, deceit, and unexpected twists, this is a great choice for those looking to enjoy psychological thrillers but looking for a summer-themed read.






Cover of the book Bad Summer People by Emma RosenblumBad Summer People

by Emma Rosenblum


Set in the picturesque vacation town of East Hampton, this suspenseful story follows the lives of wealthy and privileged summer residents whose idyllic lives are shattered by tragedy and scandal.











every summer afterEvery Summer After

by Carley Fortune


Six summers to fall in love. One moment to fall apart. A weekend to get it right. Told over the course of six years and one weekend, Every Summer After is a big, sweeping look at love and the people and choices that mark us forever. This second-chance romance will leave you feeling nostalgic for youthful summer days.











Hello, Summer book coverHello, Summer

by Mary Kay Andrews


Conley Hawkins left her hometown newspaper, The Silver Bay Beacon, years ago to become a star reporter in a big city. When her dream job falls apart, Conley returns to her sister's newspaper in Silver Bay, where she's tasked with overseeing the local gossip column. Conley soon finds herself investigating a scandalous story involving the death of a local congressman, turning their sleepy beach town into the most scandalous hotspot of the summer.  











Book cover of Hook, Line, and Sinker by Tessa BaileyHook, Line, and Sinker

by Tessa Bailey

A fun rom-com about a former player who accidentally falls for his best friend while trying to help her land a different man. With witty banter and sizzling chemistry, this book is sure to keep you hooked until the very end.












Book cover of Island Time by Georgia ClarkIsland Time

by Georgia Clark


Island Time is a smart and steamy ensemble featuring queer romance, family secrets, ambition, parenthood, and a bird-chasing bromance. This sexy, sun-soaked paradise of white sandy beaches, crystal-clear waters, and lush rainforest will show you it’s never too late to change your destiny.











Cover of One Night on the IslandOne Night on the Island

by Josie Silver


When a double-booking at a remote one-room cabin accidentally throws two solace seekers together, it feels like a cruel twist of fate. But what if it’s fate of a different kind? One Night on the Island explores the meaning of home, the joys of escape, and how the things we think we want are never the things we really need.









Browse more beach reads on display >>

*Please note: what books are featured on display changes on the 1st of each month. To browse our beach reads books after August 1, 2023, please stop by the Library or search our full catalog online.

kandra g.

Kandra G.
Adult Services Supervisor


 

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in NRH Reads

portrait silhouette in black paper over paper stripes of red, yellow, and green

Celebrate Black History Month

Posted on: February 1, 2024
hand shovel sprinkling dirt into a garden

Dig Into Gardening

Posted on: March 1, 2023
tumblebooks-logo_stk_2018

Our Favorite Tumblebooks to Read Aloud!

Posted on: February 3, 2021
bridgerton

Regency Romances for Bridgerton Fans

Posted on: January 29, 2021
Martin_Luther_King_Jr_St_Paul_Campus_U_MN

Books Honoring Martin Luther King, Jr.

Posted on: January 15, 2021
Happy Golden Retriever - Photo by Helena Lopes from Pexels

Books for Dog Lovers

Posted on: December 3, 2020
news flash (9)

Far Away Adventures for Young Adults

Posted on: November 13, 2020
cozy mysteries

Cozy Mysteries to Curl Up With

Posted on: October 28, 2020
stephen king books

Readalikes: Stephen King

Posted on: September 29, 2020
whats hot: august

What's Hot! Popular Titles of August

Posted on: August 21, 2020
CJ Box Read-Alikes

Read-A-Likes: C.J. Box

Posted on: July 28, 2020
news flash (2)

What's Hot! Top Titles of July

Posted on: July 17, 2020
summer reads book list

Easy-Breezy Summer Reads

Posted on: June 30, 2020
Books about dads

Stories to Celebrate Father's Day

Posted on: June 15, 2020
IMG_3108

Harry Potter Read-Alikes

Posted on: June 11, 2020
dragon books

All About Dragons

Posted on: June 9, 2020
mysterious woods

Top 10 Mystery Books

Posted on: April 29, 2020
book with roses

10 Romance Novels to Fall For

Posted on: April 21, 2020
Browsing Comic Books

Bam! Pow!: Great Graphic Novels

Posted on: April 10, 2020
Woman smiling while reading an ebook

Feel Good Reads

Posted on: April 3, 2020