News Flash

NRH Reads

Posted on: January 15, 2021

Books Honoring Martin Luther King, Jr.

Martin_Luther_King_Jr_St_Paul_Campus_U_MN

In honor of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and his prolific work, we've compiled a list of books for all ages that reflect on and examine the life, death, and legacy of the civil rights leader.

Martin Luther King Jr Day book coverMartin Luther King, Jr. Day

by Margaret McNamara; illustrated by Mike Gordon

Mrs. Connor's students at Robin Hill School share their dreams for the future after learning about the day that celebrates the life and dream of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

   




Cover of Martin's Big DayMartin’s Big Words: The Life of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

by Doreen Rappaport; illustrated by Bryan Collier

Tells the story of Dr. King's life and includes quotes from his speeches and sermons.

 




Man of PeaceDr. Martin Luther King, Jr.: Man of Peace

by Patricia and Fredrick McKissack

Simple text and illustrations describe the revered civil rights pioneer's life and accomplishments.

 




Cover of Let the Children MarchLet the Children March

by Monica Clark-Robinson; illustrated by Frank Morrison

Under the leadership of Dr. Martin Luther King, children and teenagers march against segregation in Birmingham, Alabama, in 1963.

 




i have a dream coverI Have a Dream: The Story Behind Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Most Famous Speech

by Kerry A. Graves

Explains the meaning and historical context of Martin Luther King, Jr.'s "I Have a Dream" speech, also providing biographical information about Dr. King and discussing the Civil Rights Movement.

 


71Lf9Mxxj4LDear Martin

by Nic Stone

Writing letters to the late Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., seventeen-year-old college-bound Justyce McAllister struggles to face the reality of race relations today and how they shape him.

   




71Xl1f7rRzLMartin Rising: Requiem for a King

by Andrea Davis Pinkney; paintings by Brian Pinkney

In a rich embroidery of visions, musical cadence, and deep emotion, Andrea and Brian Pinkney convey the final months of Martin Luther King's life and his assassination -- through metaphor, spirituality, and multilayers of meaning.

   




81X7ifQdrALRedemption: Martin Luther King Jr.’s Last 31 Hours

by Joseph Rosenbloom 

Chronicles the last 31 hours of Martin Luther King Jr.'s life as he seeks to revive the non-violent civil rights movement and push to end poverty in America.

 




seminarianThe Seminarian: Martin Luther King Jr. Comes of Age

by Patrick Parr 

Chronicles King's earlier life when he was a student at Crozer Theological Seminary, an experienced that shaped him into the historical figure he would become.

   




41y4m7E1AjL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_The Awful Grace of God: Religious Terrorism, White Supremacy, and the Unsolved Murder of Martin Luther King Jr.

by Stuart Wexler and Larry Hancock 

A comprehensive study on the assassination of Martin Luther King Jr. and the multi-year efforts of organizations like the Ku Klux Klan to stop the civil rights leader.

 




414-MLcxJ-LDeath of a King: the real story of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s Final Year

by Tavis Smiley with David Ritz 

A detailed chronicle of Dr. King's final year led to his assassination.

   




sm_ce3914662e3b-81osmrfcsalThe King Years: Historic Moments in the Civil Rights Movement

by Taylor Branch

A selection of the most important moments in her acclaimed book America in the King Years, this book focuses on essential and important moments in the 'King Era' of the Civil Rights Movement.

   

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in NRH Reads

tumblebooks-logo_stk_2018

Our Favorite Tumblebooks to Read Aloud!

Posted on: February 3, 2021
bridgerton

Regency Romances for Bridgerton Fans

Posted on: January 29, 2021
Happy Golden Retriever - Photo by Helena Lopes from Pexels

Books for Dog Lovers

Posted on: December 3, 2020
news flash (9)

Far Away Adventures for Young Adults

Posted on: November 13, 2020
cozy mysteries

Cozy Mysteries to Curl Up With

Posted on: October 28, 2020
stephen king books

Readalikes: Stephen King

Posted on: September 29, 2020
whats hot: august

What's Hot! Popular Titles of August

Posted on: August 21, 2020
CJ Box Read-Alikes

Read-A-Likes: C.J. Box

Posted on: July 28, 2020
news flash (2)

What's Hot! Top Titles of July

Posted on: July 17, 2020
summer reads book list

Easy-Breezy Summer Reads

Posted on: June 30, 2020
Books about dads

Stories to Celebrate Father's Day

Posted on: June 15, 2020
IMG_3108

Harry Potter Read-Alikes

Posted on: June 11, 2020
dragon books

All About Dragons

Posted on: June 9, 2020
mysterious woods

Top 10 Mystery Books

Posted on: April 29, 2020
book with roses

10 Romance Novels to Fall For

Posted on: April 21, 2020
Browsing Comic Books

Bam! Pow!: Great Graphic Novels

Posted on: April 10, 2020
Woman smiling while reading an ebook

Feel Good Reads

Posted on: April 3, 2020