News Flash

NRH Reads

Posted on: January 29, 2021

Regency Romances for Bridgerton Fans

bridgerton

After unabashedly enjoying the newly released Netflix series, Bridgerton, I find myself consuming all things Regency era. While I have been reading historical romance for years, I am thoroughly pleased to expand my reading selections and share them with you. Gentle reader, enjoy the following Bridgerton inspired list of suggested romance readings.


Duke, Lady, and a BabyA Duke, The Lady, and a Baby

by Vanessa Riley

If you enjoyed the aspects of the multicultural regency story in Bridgerton, you will enjoy this romantic novel. Patience Jordan loses everything after the death of her husband. She becomes a nanny and ends up being hired by her new son's caretaker, which is risky enough on its own, but to make matters worse, Patience finds herself falling for him as well.

 





Madness of Lord MackenzieThe Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie (Mackenzies & McBrides #1)

by Jennifer Ashley

This historical romance is the first in the Mackenzies series. This book tells the story of the Mackenzie clan's youngest brother, known as the "Mad Mackenzie," and the widow Beth, who falls in love with him. This book features a neurodivergent main character and is one of my all-time favorite romance series.

 







RebelRebel 

by Beverly Jenkins

Valinda Lacy's mission is to help the newly emancipated survive and flourish in post-Civil War New Orleans. When criminals destroy her school and target her, she runs for her life--into the arms of Captain Drake LeVeq, an architect from an old New Orleans family. Drake admires Valinda's determination, but when her father demands she return home to marry another man, her daring rebellion draws Drake into an irresistible intrigue.

 






never deceive a viscountNever Deceive a Viscount

by Renee Ann Miller

This regency era romance is all about a beautiful portraitist who falls in love with her new neighbor while trying to distract him from her younger sister's snooping as she tries to uncover a murder. If you loved the curious Eloise in Bridgerton, this younger sister should entertain you too.








English DukeThe English Duke

by Karen Ranney

After corresponding for years through letters to her inventor father's protege, the much sought-after Duke of Roth, Martha must travel to his estate to help him complete his prototype. But will the man live up to her expectations after years of only knowing him on paper?








The Wallflower WagerThe Wallflower Wager

by Tessa Dare

Demonstrating the same wit as the Bridgerton series, this book is a romance story perfect for animal lovers. Penelope Campion loves animals and rescues those that need healing. Her new neighbor Gabriel doesn't feel the same way and demands she gets rid of them, leading to him working with Penelope to find new homes for each animal, all the while trying not to fall in love with Penelope.








Two Rogues Make a RightTwo Rogues Make a Right (Seducing the Sedgwicks #3)

by Cat Sebastian

This is the third installment, and my favorite, of the Seducing the Sedgwicks series. I highly recommend this series for Bridgerton viewers who were as interested in the LGBTQ+ secondary character storyline. If you only read one in the series, this is the one I'd choose, but you will have a better understanding of the characters if you read the first two, or at least the first in the series. 







Devil in SpringDevil in Spring (The Ravenels #3)

by Lisa Kleypas

As a fan of Penelope and Eloise, this book has a main character that is a wonderful mix of both. Lady Pandora does not want to marry; she wants to be a board game entrepreneur. Lord Gabriel does not want to get married either, so their marriage of convenience shouldn't lead to love, right?









My Beautiful EnemyMy Beautiful Enemy

by Sherry Thomas

One of my favorite scenes in Bridgerton is when Daphne punches a persistent unwelcome suitor unconscious! If you like a tough lady who can protect herself, I can't recommend this book enough. My Beautiful Enemy is a love story within an adventure that spans across Asia and England.









If one of these books doesn't strike your fancy, don't worry -- you can find romance novels across all eras and genres in our Library catalog



Johana O.
Johana O.

Adult Services Librarian

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in NRH Reads

tumblebooks-logo_stk_2018

Our Favorite Tumblebooks to Read Aloud!

Posted on: February 3, 2021
Martin_Luther_King_Jr_St_Paul_Campus_U_MN

Books Honoring Martin Luther King, Jr.

Posted on: January 15, 2021
Happy Golden Retriever - Photo by Helena Lopes from Pexels

Books for Dog Lovers

Posted on: December 3, 2020
news flash (9)

Far Away Adventures for Young Adults

Posted on: November 13, 2020
cozy mysteries

Cozy Mysteries to Curl Up With

Posted on: October 28, 2020
stephen king books

Readalikes: Stephen King

Posted on: September 29, 2020
whats hot: august

What's Hot! Popular Titles of August

Posted on: August 21, 2020
CJ Box Read-Alikes

Read-A-Likes: C.J. Box

Posted on: July 28, 2020
news flash (2)

What's Hot! Top Titles of July

Posted on: July 17, 2020
summer reads book list

Easy-Breezy Summer Reads

Posted on: June 30, 2020
Books about dads

Stories to Celebrate Father's Day

Posted on: June 15, 2020
IMG_3108

Harry Potter Read-Alikes

Posted on: June 11, 2020
dragon books

All About Dragons

Posted on: June 9, 2020
mysterious woods

Top 10 Mystery Books

Posted on: April 29, 2020
book with roses

10 Romance Novels to Fall For

Posted on: April 21, 2020
Browsing Comic Books

Bam! Pow!: Great Graphic Novels

Posted on: April 10, 2020
Woman smiling while reading an ebook

Feel Good Reads

Posted on: April 3, 2020